Soundtrack of ‘Rocky’ (1976) – Music and Songs

Rocky has a original soundtrack made of Bill Contiwhose central song is the mythical and epic Gonna Fly Now.

Premiered in 1976, Rocky is written by and starring Sylvester Stallone and directed by John G. Avildsen. The story tells us of the search for the American dream by Rocky Balboa, a lower-class Italian-American who collects loans from a Philadelphia pawnbroker. Although he has a talent for boxing, he lacks motivation, but he finds it in the unique opportunity to fight for the heavyweight title and for the love of a woman.

The cast of the film is completed with thalia shire as Adriane Pennino Burt Young as Paulie (Adriane’s brother), Meredith Burgess as Mickey Goldmill (his trainer) and Carl Weathers as Apollo Creed, the world champion and rival of Rocky.

Rocky It became a hit and won three Oscars, thus setting everything ready to become one of the most successful franchises of all time. And so far, we have a total of eight movies: Rocky II, Rocky III, Rocky IV, Rocky V, Rocky Balboa, Creed and Creed II.

If you want to know more about the music heard in Rocky, here is all the information:

Soundtrack of ‘Rocky’

As we told you before, the original soundtrack of Rocky is a work of the American musician of Italian origin Bill Contiwho after this work, his fourth project for the cinema, made the soundtrack for films such as karate Kid, Escape or victory either Lockedamong many others.

you can hear the Rocky OST in full right here:

Rocky Theme Song: ‘Gonna Fly Now’

Gonna Fly Now it’s the song from the movie Rockymade of Bill Conti with lyrics by Carol Connors and Ayn Robbins, and performed by DeEtta West and Nelson Pigford.

rocky songs

  1. Gonna Fly Now (Theme from Rocky) (vocals: DeEtta Little/Nelson Pigford) – 2:48
  2. Philadelphia Morning – 2:22
  3. Going the Distance – 2:40
  4. Reflections – 3:19
  5. Marines’ Hymn/Yankee Doodle (Jacques Offenbach/Thomas Holcomb/Traditional, arranged by Conti) – 1:45
  6. Take You Back (Street Corner Song from Rocky) (vocals: Valentine)(written by F. Stallone, Jr.) – 1:49
  7. First Date – 1:54
  8. You Take My Heart Away (vocals: DeEtta Little/Nelson Pigford) – 4:46
  9. Fanfare for Rocky – 2:34
  10. Butkus – 2:12
  11. Alone in the Ring – 1:09
  12. The Final Bell – 1:56
  13. Rocky’s Reward – 2:03

rocky trailer

Synopsis and cast of Rocky

  • Director: John G. Avildsen
  • Distribution: Sylvester Stallone, Talia Shire, Burt Young, Carl Weathers, Burgess Meredith, David Thayer, Joe Spinell, Jimmy Gambina, Bill Baldwin, Al Silvani
  • Release date: November 21, 1976
  • Synopsis: Rocky Balboa is an unknown boxer who is offered the chance to fight for the world heavyweight title. With a lot of willpower, Rocky will thoroughly prepare for this fight, and also for the changes it will bring about in his life.

We want to say thanks to the writer of this article for this outstanding web content

Soundtrack of ‘Rocky’ (1976) – Music and Songs

You can find our social media pages here and other pages on related topics here.